Comprehensive Centers Program

   Current Section
 Office of Elementary and Secondary Education Home

Comprehensive Centers Program is a discretionary grant program authorized under Title II, Sec. 203, of the Education Technical Assistance Act (ETAA) of 2002.

Access Title II of the Educational Technical Assistance Act here

The Educational Technical Assistance Act (ETAA) of 2002 (20 U.S.C. 9601) authorizes support for not less than 20 grants to local entities, or consortia of such entities, with demonstrated expertise in providing capacity-building services in reading, mathematics, science, and technology, especially to low-performing schools and districts, including the administration and implementation of programs authorized under the ESEA. Under section 203(a)(2) of the ETAA, the Department is required to establish at least one Center in each of the 10 geographic regions served by the Department's Regional Educational Laboratories (RELs) authorized under section 941(h) of the Educational Research, Development, Dissemination, and Improvement Act of 1994. The proposed funding for Regional Centers established under the ETAA must take into consideration the school-age population, proportion of economically disadvantaged students, increased cost burdens of service delivery in rural areas, and number of schools identified for improvement under ESEA section 1111(d). Accordingly, the regions for the proposed Regional Centers take into account total SEAs, LEAs, REAs, SEAs, and LEAs eligible for the Small, Rural School Achievement Program and the Rural Low-Income School Program, schools, and the associated RELs.

The Department conducted a competition in 2012 and made five-year awards to 15 Regional Centers and seven Content Centers. On March 13, 2017, the Department granted waivers to extend the performance period of the Comprehensive Centers from October 1, 2017, through September 30, 2019 (82 FR 13452).


2 CFR 200

Last Modified: 10/02/2018